Skip to content


In classrooms and laboratories and libraries, on study abroad trips and at experiential learning venues, our faculty are teachers, mentors, and examples to our students. During Faculty Appreciation Week 2018, we introduce you to some of our great faculty with glimpses into their lives at work and at leisure. We also asked them to think back to their own college days: given all they’ve learned and experienced, what advice would they offer their college-age selves?

  • Alan Wallace - Alan Wallace is the UT Libraries reference librarian for the College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences; the Department of Psychology; and the Cinema Studies program.
  • Anne Bridges - The history and medieval studies librarian in John C. Hodges Library, Anne Bridges prepares research guides and builds special collections.
  • Bill Park - Bill Park is a professor in the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics. His teaching and research have focused on the economics of natural resources and environmental policy.
  • Brian Ambroziak - Brian Ambroziak, an associate professor in the School of Architecture, works with undergraduate and graduate students in studio and teaches elective courses.
  • Christopher Stripling - Christopher Stripling is an associate professor in the Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education, and Communications.
  • Deb Chyka - Clinical Assistant Professor Deb Chyka teaches undergraduate programs in the College of Nursing. At UT since 2007, she is the coordinator for the senior pediatrics course.
  • Erin Hardin - A professor of psychology and the director of undergraduate studies for psychology, Erin Hardin has been at UT since 2013.
  • James Williams - James Williams is an assistant professor in the Department of Retail, Hospitality, and Tourism Management in the College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences.
  • Julia Jaekel - Julia Jaekel is an associate professor in the Department of Child and Family Studies as well as the co-director of the Early Experiences Research Center (EERC).
  • Laura Miller - Laura Miller is an associate professor in the School of Communication Studies specializing in communication theory, interpersonal communication, and health communication.
  • Linda Myers - Linda Myers is the Haslam Chair of Business, a Distinguished Professor of Accounting, and director of the PhD program in accounting.
  • Marcy Souza - Marcy Souza is an associate professor of veterinary public health in the College of Veterinary Medicine and the director of Human-Animal Bond in Tennessee (HABIT).
  • Mariea Hoy - A professor in the School of Advertising and Public Relations, Mariea Hoy was recently named the inaugural recipient of the DeForrest Jackson Professorship.
  • Mark Moon - Mark Moon is an associate professor of marketing and the Lyle and Marcella Flaskerud Faculty Fellow. His research and expertise focus on demand-supply integration and demand management.
  • Mary Gunther - Associate Professor Mary Gunther is executive associate dean for academic affairs in the College of Nursing. She oversees academic programs, curriculum development, catalog changes, and daily operations.
  • Maurice Stucke - Maurice Stucke is a professor in the College of Law. His focus areas include business torts, competition law, consumer protection law, and internet and privacy law.
  • Monica Black - Monica Black is a Lindsay Young Associate Professor of History and associate head of the history department. She serves as a faculty senator and chapter president of AAUP.
  • Paul Harrill - Paul Harrill is an associate professor and holds the Dee and Jim Haslam Professorship in the School of Art. He is the associate director of the Cinema Studies program.
  • Robert French - Robert French is an adjunct associate professor in the School of Architecture. A 1972 UT architecture alum himself, he’s been on the faculty since 1988.
  • Rupy Sawhney - Rupy Sawhney is the Heath Fellow in Business and Engineering, director of the Center for Advanced Systems Research and Education, and professor of industrial and systems engineering.
  • Silke Hecht - Silke Hecht is a professor of radiology in the College of Veterinary Medicine. She divides her time between clinical work, teaching, and conducting research.
  • Stacia West - An assistant professor in the College of Social Work, Stacia West focuses her teaching on organizational and nonprofit leadership and her research on affordable housing, poverty, and economic inequality.
  • Stephanie TerMaath - Stephanie TerMaath is the Jessie Rogers Zeanah Faculty Fellow and an assistant professor of mechanical, aerospace, and biomedical engineering. She came to UT in 2012.
  • Tadele Mengesha - Tadele Mengesha is an assistant professor of mathematics. He’s been at UT since 2014.
  • Thereasa Abrams - A faculty member since 2016, Thereasa Abrams is an assistant professor of social work. Her research focuses on burn trauma patients and their recovery.

View all Faculty Stories

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

Report an accessibility barrier.Privacy.